Guideline on Hidradenitis suppurativa Developed by the Guideline Subcommittee

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 7.05.44 PM


Guideline on Hidradenitis suppurativa
Developed by the Guideline Subcommittee

Several studies aimed to assess frequency of HS using prevalence or incidence estimations in different settings (hospital versus population-based), different time periods (from 1968 to 2008)b different diagnosis methods (self-reported, medically assessed, diagnosis of treatments codes through automated requests in medical information systems) leading to an important variability of estimations and uncertainties regarding the actual frequency of HS (11,12)

One recent study estimated the incidence of HS (12) in an American county (Minnesota) with a population of about 144,000 people. The source was the Rochester Epidemiologic Project, a medical information system gathering records from hospitals, clinics, private practitioners and nursing homes within the county. Between 1968 and 2008, 268 HS cases were identified leading to a mean incidence of 6.0 per 100,000 person-years with a two-fold incidence between the extremities of the period (4 to 10 per 100,000 person-years). This increase may be due to an increase in detection and coding of HS in the medical information system. The strength of this study was to estimate the incidence of HS for the first time. The limit of the study was its retrospective design. Moreover, there may be a selection bias due to recruitment through medical information system leading to a possible under estimation of incidence. There also may be a classification bias due to missed diagnosis of mild early cases.

Subcommittee Members:
Prof. Dr. Christos Zouboulis, Dessau (Germany) Prof. Dr. Lukasz Matusiak, Wroclaw (Poland)
Prof. Dr. Nemesha Desai, London (United Kingdom) Prof. Dr. Errol P. Prens, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Lennart Erntestam, Stockholm (Sweden) Prof. Dr. Jean Revuz, Cretail (France)
Prof. Dr. Robert E. Hunger, Berne (Switzerland) Dr. Sylke Schneider-Burrus, Berlin (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Dimitrios Ioannides, Thessaloniki (Greece) Prof. Dr. Jacek C. Szepietowski, Wroclaw (Poland)
Prof. Dr. István Juhász, Debrecen (Hungary) Prof. Dr. Hessel van der Zee,Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Jan Papins, Stockholm (Sweden) Prof. Dr. Gregor Jemec, Roskilde (Denmark)
Members of EDF Guideline Committee:
Prof. Dr. Werner Aberer, Graz (Austria) Prof. Dr. Dieter Metze, Muenster (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Martine Bagot, Paris (France) Prof. Dr. Gillian Murphy, Dublin (Ireland)
Prof. Dr. Nicole Basset-Seguin, Paris (France) PD Dr. Alexander Nast, Berlin (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Blume-Peytavi, Berlin (Germany) Prof. Dr. Martino Neumann, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Lasse Braathen, Bern (Switzerland) Prof. Dr. Tony Ormerod, Aberdeen (United Kingdom)
Prof. Dr. Sergio Chimenti, Rome (Italy) Prof. Dr. Mauro Picardo, Rome (Italy)
Prof. Dr. Alexander Enk, Heidelberg (Germany) Prof. Dr. Annamari Ranki, Helsinki (Finland)
Prof. Dr. Claudio Feliciani, Rome (Italy) Prof. Dr. Johannes Ring, Munich (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Claus Garbe, Tuebingen (Germany) Prof. Dr. Berthold Rzany, Berlin (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Harald Gollnick, Magdeburg (Germany) Prof. Dr. Rudolf Stadler, Minden (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Gerd Gross, Rostock (Germany) Prof. Dr. Sonja Ständer, Muenster (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Vladimir Hegyi, Bratislava (Slovakia) Prof. Dr. Wolfram Sterry, Berlin (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Michael Hertl, Marburg (Germany) Prof. Dr. Eggert Stockfleth, Bochum (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Dimitrios Ioannides, Thessaloniki (Greece) Prof. Dr. Alain Taieb, Bordeaux (France)
Prof. Dr. Michel Janier, Paris (France) Prof. Dr. George-Sorin Tiplica, Bucharest (Romania)
Prof. Dr. Gregor Jemec, Roskilde (Denmark) Prof. Dr. Nikolai Tsankov, Sofia (Bulgaria)
Prof. Dr. Lajos Kemény, Szeged (Hungary) Prof. Dr. Elke Weisshaar, Heidelberg (Germany)
Dr. Gudula Kirtschig, Amsterdam (Netherlands) Prof. Dr. Sean Whittaker, London (United Kingdom)
Prof. Dr. Robert Knobler, Vienna (Austria) Prof. Dr. Fenella Wojnarowska, Oxford (UK)
Prof. Dr. Annegret Kuhn, Muenster (Germany) Prof. Dr. Christos Zouboulis, Dessau (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Marcus Maurer, Berlin (Germany) Prof. Dr. Torsten Zuberbier, Berlin (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Kai Munte, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Chairman of EDF Guideline Committee:
PD Dr. Alexander Nast, Berlin (Germany)
Expiry date: 07/2017



Leave a reply

HSAWARENESS.ORG | Fighting for Hidradenitis suppurativa (HS), a.k.a Acne Inversa Patient and Doctor Awareness ©2019  All Rights Reserved. Your use of this website constitutes explicit agreement to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policies. This website does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?